2022 Building Design Awards

Entrant Information

This competition enables our members to gain recognition from the public, industry, and their fellow design community across Australia and internationally.  

The Design Matters National Awards program has now outgrown a single event that commenced in 1996.  This year, the new two-tiered program will open with individual State Awards. State Building Design of the Year winners will automatically qualify to compete in the National Design Awards to become Australia’s Building Designer of the Year to be celebrated on 15 September 2022.


  1.  Entering the Awards acts as a third-party endorsement for your business and a sign of professional quality for your clients. It’s a great way of differentiating your company from your competitors. 
  2. Entering the Awards is an inexpensive way of getting national PR and marketing in every state and territory of Australia.
  3. The Awards provide a platform for sharing your story.
  4. The Awards enable you to benchmark your work against your competitors. 
  5. It’s not just the winning that counts! The Awards put all building designers on the map, and let the world know who Australia’s best building designers are. They also recognise the hard work and achievements of your employees, so winning can help boost your staff morale.


Entries Open: Monday 11 April

Entries Close: Thursday 30 June




  1. Entrants must be a Building Designer Member of Design Matters National. 
  2. Project(s) must have an occupancy permit by the closing date (VIC)
  3. Projects must be completed within the last three years.
  4. Projects have not been entered into the Awards previously.

The location of a project - not the Building Designer - determines which State Awards a project is entered into. For example, if a Victorian-based building designer enters a project located in NSW, the project will be judged as part of the NSW State Awards.


Members must submit their entry via the online portal. No other method of lodgement will be accepted. 

Each project entered will attract a fee of $500.00 (ex. GST).


What is the story behind your design solution?

How does this building enhance human health and connection, biodiversity, water resources, and greenhouse gas emissions?

How do building occupants experience the building now, and how might it accommodate them in the future?


33 categories to choose from across:

  • Residential (21)
  • Non Residential (4)
  • Materials Excellence (8)


  • State Building Design of the Year
  • People's Choice Award
  • Past Presidents' Award
  • National Building Design of the Year