The best display of building design ever seen in WA has wowed the audience at the 2021 Design Matters National (DMN) Building Design Awards held in Perth on Friday 15 October. 

MC Holly McSweeney revealed the winners at the live awards event attended by DMN Members, their guests, VIPs and major sponsors, at WA Museum Boola Bardip. 

Design Matters National CEO Peta Anderson said the breadth and depth of talent on show exceeded all expectations.

“The aim of the DMN BD Awards is to inspire building designers and architects to open the door to greatness and they certainly took up that mantle this year, providing an astonishing range of building designs of which they should feel incredibly proud,” Ms Anderson said.

The WA and NT Awards acknowledge good building design across the categories of residential and non-residential (both new homes and alterations and additions); environmentally sustainable design; excellence in materials usage; and emerging, student designers. 

The judges of this year’s Awards, respected building designers and architects, many of whom have previously been honoured with an Award, were: Alex Smeu, Longfield Designs; Andrew Abercrombie, Serneke Australia; Jacopo Bonomi, Essenziale; Jason Saunders, Arc Seven.1; John Chisholm, John Chisholm Design; Mark Barker, Meyer Shircore & Associates; Shayne Le Roy, Shayne Le Roy Design; Shelly Dival, Enabling Spaces; Susanne Lindstrom-Wilson, Coastline Design & Drafting; and Wen-Chi Tseng, Arc T-Lab. 

The major sponsors of the 2021 DMN BD Awards were James Hardie, Webber Insurance and Weathertex, AWS, Metroll, Bluescope Colorbond, Ultimate Windows, and CSR Bradford. 

The first DMN Building Design Awards were held in 1996, attracting 50 entries. In 2021, the Awards have grown to become some of the most important and sought-after accolades among built environment professionals. 

Winners of the 2021 DMN BD Awards of WA and NT: 

o Building Design of the Year / New House over $3M: Infinity Views by John Josephs of Superseed Architecture

o James Hardie Award: Kensington Residence by Adrian Fratelle of Ecohabit

o New House $300,001-$500k / Environmentally Sustainable: Honeysuckle House by Michael Lurie of Lurie Concepts

o New House $500,001-$750k / Outdoor / Rural: Stealth Farmhouse 2.0 by Michael Lurie of Lurie Concepts

o New House $750,001 - $1M / Use of Natural Stone: Injidup Spring by Michael Lurie of Lurie Concepts 

o New House $1,000,001-$2M / Use of Bricks / Use of Timber: North Beach House by Daniel Cassettai of Daniel Cassettai Design

o New House up to $2,000,001 - $3M / Use of Concrete  / Use of Steel: King Albert by Daniel Cassettai of Daniel Cassettai Design

o Alterations & Additions up to $350,001 – NT / Outdoor Space – NT / Small Works Project – NT: Yron's Yurt by Anthea Wells-Corner of Dancing Dragon Design

o Alterations & Additions $350,001-$800K: White House Additions by Daniel Cassettai of Daniel Cassettai Design

o Residential Design Alterations & Additions over $800k / Bathroom / Heritage: Veiled House by Kerry Jacobs of JUO

o Kitchen: Mosman Park by Katie Shortland-Webb of KTR Creations

o Multi-Residential up to $6 million: Gladstone by Daniel Lomma of Daniel Lomma Design

o Conceptual/Unbuilt Design: Kulbardi House by John Damant of Arcologic Design

o Group Dwelling: Canning Highway by Madeleine Opacak of Mojo Design Studio

o Interior / Public Building / Commercial up to $2M: Sero Institute by Cara Little of Built Ink

o Industrial / Commercial over $2M: UNIOS HQ by Joseph Panetta of Commercial Design Management

o Lightweight Materials: The Castle by Kyle Stacey of Stack Design

o Documentation: Esperance Indoor Sports Stadium by Nicholas Wells of Wells Building Designers and Consultants

o Best Response to a Design Brief by Building Design Student: Dexter Kee Yen Tan of Curtin University.

Congratulations to all the winners and the entrants in this year’s WA and NT Awards. 

To see all the WA and NT winners’ designs, head to:

To vote in our People’s Choice Award on Facebook, click here:

The DMN BD Awards for Victoria, SA, NSW, ACT, Qld., and Tasmania will take place online, on Thursday 28 October, at 7PM ADST.